Monday, March 22, 2010

English Football League Formed 1888

England has a long history with football. Kings from Edward II, Edward III, Henry IV, Edward IV, Henry VII and Henry VIII passed proclamations banning football, as it was believed that young men should spend their time preparing for battle rather than playing games. Over time, as football continued to grow in popularity, teams became more and more professional. The first of these, the English Football League, was formed by Aston Villa's director William McGregor today in 1888. The season started a few months later with 12 clubs - six from Lancashire (Preston North End, Accrington, Blackburn Rovers, Burnley, Bolton Wanderers and Everton) and six from the Midlands (Aston Villa, Derby County, Notts County, Stoke, West Bromwich Albion and Wolverhampton Wanderers). The first winner of the league title was Preston. Some of the beginning rules were the same as today, each team played the other in two matches, one at home and one away.

Celebrate football in your house today - you can enjoy the great Spring weather we are having and kick around the ball. If you feel like staying inside, try a few crafts such as this football pillow, Franky Football buddy, or a frisbee football. Bigger kids can do a football crossword puzzle or word search. Finish it off with some football cookies!

Image credit: (Spartacus Educational)

No comments:

Post a Comment